• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Hello... an introduction.

Hello... an introduction.

Hey guys,

My first time on the NorthernSounds forums. I just wanted to introduce myself. I am a composer from the ChicagoLand area, I picked up my first instrument five years ago, an Ibenez electric. I never had lessons or any formal music training, I learned the basics from the drummer in my first band, a jazz/rock effort. He (the drummer) and I wrote seventy songs together and have now begun work on an opera.

I am trying to teach myself as much composition and arranging as I can but I have a full time day job (as an English teacher) and am currantly taking night courses in graphic design, so spare time is fleeting.

I look forward to your help and hopefully being able to help...

My DAW:
    Pentium 4 2.4GHz w/ 533MHz FSB
    768MB of RDRAM PC1066
    60GB HDD for programs, 120GB HDD for audio
    DVD+RW/CD-RW/iomega Zip
    15\" LCD flat-panel monitor

Windows XP Home SP1
    Cubase SX v1.0.6
    The Grand v1.0.5
    SoundForge 6

STAudio C-Port 8-in/8-out PCI sound card
    M-Audio SP-B5 Studiophile Active near-field monitors.

Re: Hello... an introduction.

Welcome Alan,

I can see where this is going. Which sampler to buy? Which libraries?

Well... You\'ve come to the right place!

BTW, does the CPort support the GSIF standard?

Originally posted by JonFairhurst:
    BTW, does the CPort support the GSIF standard?
    <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">Yes it does, I made sure of this before purchasing as GigaStudio interested me very much at the time I bought it.