• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: "Spring in Mid-May" - and Orchestral Art-song

Share/Bookmark

"Spring in Mid-May" - an Orchestral Art-song

Hello -

Attached is a MP3 file of my latest composition, "Spring in Mid-May". It composition #2 for what I hope to be a four-composition project titled "Orchestral Art-Songs #1". Actually, I finished this piece sometime during the the fall of 2012. It is the second of two orchestral composition that I finished last year. (The last piece, "Winter in Mid-January" was finished about a year ago.) I guess I'm just a sloooooow composer. LOL! (More accurately, life has been busy between work and family illnesses.)

This computer-based orchestral composition primarily used GPO, JABB libraries along with Kirk Hunter's Orchestral Strings 2 & Orchestral Brass 2 libraries. As I've shared before in the past, I find that GPO and JABB blends well with other libraries, especially with Kirk Hunter's Libraries (with their reverb turned off). I used Apple's Logic Pro 9.1.7 audio/sequencing program along with its own reverb and EQ plug-ings.

The composition is what it is. From a compositional point of view, I'm attempting to develop my own style of "Pop Orchestral Art-Songs" (if that makes any sense). So the melodic and harmonic structures sound relatively "inside" as compared to more modern and sophisticated orchestral compositions. Hopefully, as I write more and more pieces, I'll feel brave enough to develop more sophisticated compositions. I'm just not there yet. However, I am happy to accept any and all comments/criticism/suggestions on improving the overall sound of this piece.