• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My initial submission

My initial submission

Here is my initial foray into non-live composition. Theme for a Crazy Italian
    I am a Grove School Grad so I have lived in the Jazz/Popular world for most of my musical life and am branching out into \"legit\" music for some other projects.
    Even though I am a published writer/composer/arranger, I am nervous about submiting this theme that is so out of my normal scheme of music.

All comments (except destructive and rude) appreciated.

Here goes.

Re: My initial submission

Hey Tresero, me gusta mucho la melodía, quiza el ritmo de las cuerdas del acompañamiento, es un poco inapropiado para mi gusto, pero esta chulo..

Hey tresero, i like so much the melodys, only think i fell a bit \"out\", is the strings grove rithm, but in general i like the piece..
    Ánimo CAMPEON.!! [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]

I\'m from Vegas. Making a living with music there?

About your piece, I would consider the following:

1) vary the accompaniment rhythm and articulations
    2) vary the instrument that plays the melody
    3) consider reharmonizing melody when the melody repeats itself. Varied harmonies will push your melody in other interesting directions (perhaps making your melody even more attractive)
    4) listen to Beethoven string quartets for some cool suggestions for harmony, rhythmic variation and use of melody

Good luck in the silver state. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Nice melody. Very sweet.

Your pop background certainly informs the piece with a bass, rhythm, melody arrangement and the I IV V and I IV II V chord progressions. It does have an italian feel, though it\'s not muy loco. You need some accidentals to give a crazy or off-center mood. Maybe the Italiano is only mildly afflicted :-)