• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: eastwest libraries, system upgrade recommendations ?

eastwest libraries, system upgrade recommendations ?

Hi there,

I'm a veteran composer and I've recently went on a shopping-spree and purchased a series of EastWest librariess and think it's time for an upgrade. But I'm a bit out of the loop with technology for the past years as I've been sticking with my old system for far too long.

This is what I got now:

Symphonic Orchestra
    Symphonic Choirs
    Voices of Passion
    Stormdrum 2

I might add Ministry of Rock and the Hollywood series later if my system can handle it versus being worth the investment compared to quality gain if you consider I already own Symphonic Orchestra.

I want to get full potential out of all of these. I will compose orchestral music and world music.

I've been stuck with Adobe Audition and Reason for far too long so I want to upgrade this too.

My current system is:

WinXP SP2
    Intel Core Duo, E8400 @ 3.00ghz
    4GB RAM (XP only recognises 3.25 when rightclicking MyComputer specs)
    Harddrive ST3500320AS 500GB, 4 partitions
    Emu E-DSP soundcard

System was bought in 2007-8

SO: **** I've got about 1000 USD to spend on a new system (to either replace or add to the current one).

I'm very much a playing composer, a live player, meaning my composing style is live-play where-after I edit and expand.

I'm not up to date with what's possible regarding slave machines and such. I've also heard about "server motherboards" but I have no clue where to start looking and how this would function practically.