• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Speaking Of Rock Bass (demos...)

Speaking Of Rock Bass (demos...)

Lot\'s of rock bass talk in the forum, which is cool. There has been some excellent demos recently which showcase some of the possibilities of the newer libraries.

I\'ve included a link to some of the demos here to make it easy to reference.

Trilogy Demos By \"Sharmy\":

Hardcore Bass Demo:

Recently while waiting to see if the newer lirbaries were going to be able to deliver a fat hard picked rock sound, I started playing with my older bass libraries. To my surprise the Dan Dean 5 String Guild Pilot available in his Giga Bass Collection layered with a low sub synth bass actually comes very close to the sound I am looking for. I created a new instrument using just 1 articulation from this bass and some bass fx sounds from another library. It is not a picked bass, but because it was popped hard, it ended up sounding similar to a heavy picked string.

Dan Dean 5 String Guild Pilot:

(Yes, it\'s all sampled instruments. And I know the guitars aren\'t very realistic....yet.) [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

FYI: The Dan Dean 5 String Guild Pilot has 7 different articulations. I\'m only using 1 articulation from this bass. (There\'s only 1 velocity as well.)

What\'s missing so far in probably all of these demos is the attack of the pick sound. The pick sound is very important in today\'s rock music. If you watch any Much Music Uranium where they showcase alot of heavy rock bands, you can see the bass players \"strumming\" the strings with their picks to get a very percussive sound. When a drummer does a fill, the bass player will tighten the strings do some \"chuga-chuga\" sounds with the pick at the same time as the fill.

What\'s also scary in today\'s music is the lack of guitar solos, but that\'s another subject. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]