• Register
  • Help

Topic: So here is my question.

So here is my question.

Hello everyone,

Let me first say that I have been lurking for a while, reading posts and listening to some very inspirational music.

I have a small studio setup, ADAT, Cubase, Reason, B4, Sampletank, and some other goodies. All told I have been recording for about ten years.

Well, with computers and soft samplers as powerful as they are these days, it seems possible (with a large initial, and who are we kidding, small continual investments) to get a very viable setup, capable of the wonderful sonic results that you all are acheiving.

I have been experimenting for a while with my limited equipment and would like to get more into the instrumental, orchestral side of things.

I am primarily a guitar player, and this would continue to play a large role in my music. I have limited keyboard skills and have managed to get some decent pieces on tape. But...

How do you all get such realistic performances?

How do you get the drums and other percussion to play so convincingly?

I cannot get similar results tapping and playing things on my keyboard, so I imagine that you all must be doing much more then this.

I have limited skills with Cubase and I know that you can program drums and other parts in, but I prefer to play live from the keyboard. Also this seems to get a bit tedious for me.

I also play mostly by ear and read little music so, although I know there are notation programs where you write the music and then assign gigastudio to play the parts, this avenue is not for me either.

So how do you do it?

Do most of you use notation programs and play very little live?

Or do you tweak and program endlessly in your sequencer of choice?

Or do you employ different midi controlers for different parts? (drums, strings, etc.)

I am used to building a song and recording the tracks one at a time. Can a similar method be employed for orchestral arrangements?