• Register
  • Help

Topic: Du Style No. 4 - Trumpet Solo

Share/Bookmark

Du Style No. 4 - Trumpet Solo

This is for all the trumpet aficionados out there. Many years back I studied trumpet with Harry Herforth, principle trumpet for the 1950's Cleveland Orchestra. One of the study books I played from was the Theo Charlier Etudes. I always thought they were trumpet solos. But, after contacting Alphonse Leduc (the French publishing company), I found out that they were just conceived as studies for the trumpet in the French style. I always felt they would make great solos if accompanied. I've taken on the task of composing accompaniments for the 36 etudes in the book (the book that I had purchased for about $10 in 1966 that now cost $75! Ouch!)

Here I present Du Style No. 4. The trumpet part is the study created by Theo Charlier (Belgium trumpet player) and the piano part was my creation. The performers are The GPO Trumpet and the GPO Steinway. Music was produced by Finale. No DAW engineering was done.

You will note at the very end (around 3:00) that the low G on the Bb trumpet does not sound. In essence, it is a Concert F which the trumpet can't play. However this was transposed to Bb trumpet and the pitch becomes the low G which is playable. Since the GPO instrument is a Concert C instrument, it is not recognizing the transposition and thinks it is still the low F - which it is, but GPO doesn't play it as a transposed note. Alas, you will have to imagine that one note that I can play on my Bb trumpet and GPO cannot.

Du Style

Enjoy,

Bill
    We dream to write and we write to dream.

Challenge #10 Winner

Re: Du Style No. 4 - Trumpet Solo

Nice!!Euphoniums play Charlier, too!!
    Jim Williams
    Professor of Capitalism
    N9EJR
    Indianapolis Brass Choir
    All Your Bass Sus&Short Are Belong to Us.